Around Modesto Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event



Waterscapes & Wet Bodies Through the Colonial Eye: West Africa, Hawai'i and India

Art Show, Mixed Media, Multimedia, Gallery, Photography
This exhibit in Kolligian Library illustrates how people in West Africa, Hawaii and India have, historically, understood water; incorporated it into designed landscapes, places of worship, and residence; grappled with its scarcity; and practiced sensual immersive cultural practices such as swimming, bathing, surfing, and ritualized blood sports with marine creatures. The exhibition features a collection of original early modern and modern (ca. 1600 – 1940s) materials of visual culture, including newspapers, travelogues, paintings, photographs, prints, and postcards. Public reception on Feb. 7 from noon to 1 p.m. On view through May 7.
lecture;waterscapes;Hawai'i: West Africa;India;
Event Info: (209) 228-2453
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: centerforhumanities.ucmerced.edu/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
Opening reception, Feb. 7, noon-1 p.m.
 • Wed 2/21/18 - Thu 2/22/18 at 7am-12am 
 • Fri 2/23/18 at 7am-6pm 
 • Sat 2/24/18 at 12pm-6pm 
 • Sun 2/25/18 at 12pm-12am 
 • Mon 2/26/18 - Thu 3/1/18 at 7am-12am 
 • Fri 3/2/18 at 7am-6pm 
 • Sat 3/3/18 at 12pm-6pm 
 • Sun 3/4/18 at 12pm-12am 
 • Mon 3/5/18 - Thu 3/8/18 at 7am-12am 
 • Fri 3/9/18 at 7am-6pm 
 • Sat 3/10/18 at 12pm-6pm 
 • Sun 3/11/18 at 12pm-12am 
 • Mon 3/12/18 - Thu 3/15/18 at 7am-12am 
 • Fri 3/16/18 at 7am-6pm 
 • Sat 3/17/18 at 12pm-6pm 
 • Sun 3/18/18 at 12pm-12am 
 • Mon 3/19/18 - Thu 3/22/18 at 7am-12am 
 • Fri 3/23/18 at 7am-6pm 
 • Sat 3/24/18 at 12pm-6pm 
 • Sun 3/25/18 at 12pm-12am 
 • Mon 3/26/18 - Thu 3/29/18 at 7am-12am 
 • Fri 3/30/18 at 7am-6pm 
 • Sat 3/31/18 at 12pm-6pm 
 • Sun 4/1/18 at 12pm-12am 
 • Mon 4/2/18 - Thu 4/5/18 at 7am-12am 
 • Fri 4/6/18 at 7am-6pm 
 • Sat 4/7/18 at 12pm-6pm 
 • Sun 4/8/18 at 12pm-12am 
 • Mon 4/9/18 - Thu 4/12/18 at 7am-12am 
 • Fri 4/13/18 at 7am-6pm 
 • Sat 4/14/18 at 12pm-6pm 
 • Sun 4/15/18 at 12pm-12am 
 • Mon 4/16/18 - Thu 4/19/18 at 7am-12am 
 • Fri 4/20/18 at 7am-6pm 
 • Sat 4/21/18 at 12pm-6pm 
 • Sun 4/22/18 at 12pm-12am 
 • Mon 4/23/18 - Thu 4/26/18 at 7am-12am 
 • Fri 4/27/18 at 7am-6pm 
 • Sat 4/28/18 at 12pm-6pm 
 • Sun 4/29/18 at 12pm-12am 
 • Mon 4/30/18 - Thu 5/3/18 at 7am-12am 
 • Fri 5/4/18 at 7am-12am 
 • Sat 5/5/18 at 7am-9pm 
 • Sun 5/6/18 at 10am-12am 
 • Mon 5/7/18 at 7am-12am 

University of California, Merced
address  5200 Lake Rd.
 Merced, CA  95343
phone (209) 228-4400
www.ucmerced.edu