Around Modesto Things To Do Places To Go People To See Restaurants Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


University of California, Merced


address  5200 Lake Rd.
 Merced, CA  95343
phone (209) 228-4400
www.ucmerced.edu

UC Merced Writing Project's Invitational Summer Institute

UC Merced Writing Project's Invitational Summer Institute

Special Event, Class/Workshop, Education, Classes/Clinics
Are you a teacher looking for more this summer? The UC Merced Writing Project, established in September 2000, is one of 17 California Writing Project sites that follow the model of the Bay Area Writing Project, which began in 1974 at UC Berkeley. The cornerstone of the Project is the Invitational Summer Institute, where the participants, selected via an application-interview process, are given a fellowship to attend and coached to become teacher consultants. The program’s aim is to attract a culturally diverse group of highly skilled practicing teachers of writing from all grade-levels, K-college. This diversity must also include a balance of teachers from urban and rural schools in the 20 school districts in Merced. The Invitational Summer Institute is the heart of teacher-leadership development for all Writing Project Sites. Throughout the school year, teacher consultants serve the K-14 educational community, particularly teachers and students in under-performing schools. Through contracted in-service and partnerships with schools and districts, teachers trained in the Institute provide professional development opportunities for their colleagues to improve the teaching and learning of writing. The Institute is a teachers-teaching-teachers model that situates the expertise for professional growth in the hands of classroom teachers. K-college-level teachers from all disciplines are invited to apply for fellowship; application deadline is May 17.
Teachers;Education;UC Merced;Professional Development;Higher Learning
Event Info: (209) 381-6559
Information: ncole2@ucmerced.edu; (209) 381-6559
Price: Free to apply; applications due by May 17
Event Website: writingproject.ucmerced.edu/invitational-summer-institute
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Mon 6/19/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Tue 6/20/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Wed 6/21/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Thu 6/22/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Mon 6/26/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Tue 6/27/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Wed 6/28/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Thu 6/29/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Mon 7/3/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Wed 7/5/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Thu 7/6/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Mon 7/10/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Tue 7/11/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Wed 7/12/17 at 8:30am-3pm 
 • Thu 7/13/17 at 8:30am-3pm